Gospel of Lead a show curated by Regine Basha is currently on display at the Arthouse in downtown Austin. The exhibit features the work of Dario Robleto, an installation artist from San Antonio, and Jeremy Blake, a California video-installation artist.

I love visiting this gallery on Thursday evenings, when they stay open late and its usually more quiet. To my knowledge, this is the most contemporary art space in Austin. The Capitol Metro bus drops me off right at their door. I had been hesitating to visit this exhibit, I had seen the work of Jeremy Blake at the SF MOMA about a year ago, when they presented the Winchester trilogy and I didn’t really connect with the work. This same installation was on view at the Arthouse, but I thought, why not go check it out, the title of the exhibit at least was intriguing.

Gospel of Lead

When I entered the exhibit, I was immediatly attracted to the work of Robleto. Their was an uneasiness about each piece, a sense of timelessness and a feeling that every object whether it was a button, a piece of fabric or bullet shards, everything had been purposefully placed with unconditional tenderness. The work evoked a sense of loss that really moved me. Some of the pieces listed materials such as human bone and objects dating back to the civil war.

I thought the music from the Winchester trilogy went very well with Dario’s work, but I wasn’t really interested in the videos. In Robleto’s work I could see traces of life, human hair, bones, buttons, teeth, coins. I thought of Doris Salcedo, absence was implied.

I wanted to see a sign or a clear signal of what Dario thinks about violence, but there were no absolutes in his work. It left me questioning, I love work that allows that opportunity.

